Posted by: harrisandyou | November 12, 2013

Farmers Market

English: The Dupont Circle Farmers Market, a w...

English: The Dupont Circle Farmers Market, a weekly event featuring organic produce and other goods, takes place every Sunday morning in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you shop at your local farmers market?  The farmers market where I live is on Friday afternoons.  I am usually at work when farmers market is open so I cannot always attend.  When I do get to go I enjoy going to it.

I enjoy shopping at farmers market — mingling with the other shoppers and enjoying the relaxed atmosphere.  I like buying fresh vegetables and fruits direct from the farmers.  They are providing food for us and we are helping to support their efforts so they can grow more vegetables and fruits.

Most of the farmers have organic farms so they do not use any pesticides that harm the produce, the land or us.  I noticed that the food taste better, cleaner than store bought produce.   After purchasing all the fresh produce it encourages me to cook and cooking at home is healthier and saves you money.

If you shop at a farmers market, what do you usually purchase?  What makes you want to go to the farmers market?

Leave a Reply

Categories

