Posted by: harrisandyou | October 22, 2013

Antiques

English: Antiques being sold on Colaba Causeway

English: Antiques being sold on Colaba Causeway (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love going to antique shops and the area I live in has many.  What I like about it is you never know what you are going to find and you can find new uses for the antiques.  It is also a great way to reuse, repurpose items and stop buying new items when there are perfectly good old products ready to use.

I have found many of the antiques are in good shape because they were made to last.  In the 1930’s people did not have money to purchase replacements, they made do with what they had or they repaired what they had.  My father use to say that they “were NOT a throw away society”.

People love to buy new clothes, new cars, new electronic items.  There are commercials on television, radio, and billboards to whet our appetites for new items 24/7. There is new technologically just about every month in order for people to buy the latest cell phone, tablet, car, television, etc.

As long as my car, cell phone, television, etc. is working I don’t need to replace it just because ABC Company came out with a new version.  I am grateful for what I have and appreciate the antiquities of yesteryear.

Leave a Reply

Categories

