Posted by: harrisandyou | September 4, 2013

Got Compost?

English: Composting in the Escuela Barreales.

English: Composting in the Escuela Barreales. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I hate throwing food in the trash.  I am always thinking that it would be better to use it in the garden.  I do not know how to begin to compost but would like to learn.  I need to be careful of what goes into my yard as I live in a coastal town of deer, skunks, raccoons, etc.

I think of how much trash could be saved going to the landfill if we took the organics out.  Food and yard waste could be made into compost and put into the soil.  It is good for the soil and plants, the compost provides nutrients and helps maintain the water in the soil.

I am going to do some research for my area and find out if there is a class on home composting.  The sooner I start the better my garden will be and I will feel better knowing I saved organics from going to the landfill.

Leave a Reply

Categories

