Posted by: harrisandyou | July 4, 2013

Settling In

The move went pretty well.  It was stressful having the movers put all the furniture and boxes on the truck while at the same time I packed my car.  It was after 8:00 in the evening by the time we arrived at my new residence. The following day we unpacked putting all the newspaper and shredded paper into the recycling bin. We broke down the boxes and took them to the recycling center in town. I was able to put almost all of my packing materials in the recycling bin.  There were only a few items that went to the trash bin.  It felt good to not add to the already overflowing trash we have in California.

In the county that I am living they mandate recycling and if you do not bring your own reusable bags to the grocery store they charge you $0.10. I have been using my own reusable bags for years.  I am happy to be living in a community that cares about the environment.

What does your community do to help the environment? How can we help make more communities adopt these policies?

Leave a Reply

Categories

