Posted by: harrisandyou | June 16, 2013

Packing Fragile Items

Bubble Wrap

Bubble Wrap (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I pack up dishes, glasses and kitchen items, I’m trying to use materials that can be recycled or reused.  A new neighbor came by and gave me her boxes and inside was bubble wrap.  Bubble wrap is not a product that can be recycled and it is not biodegradable.  Since she brought it over and I have dishes to pack, I started using it and at the same time I felt a little guilty using a product that is not good for the environment.

The other thought was at least I am reusing it which made me feel a little better. Still it is not my preferred material to wrap my dishes in. I am using newspaper, wrapping paper and tissue paper that I had on hand and thought I would use what I have. Better to reuse and re-purpose the materials I have on hand then to purchase new materials.

After I move and start unpacking, I am hoping to find someone else that may need the boxes and packing material.  I will definitely recycle the boxes and newspapers.  Packing and getting all items ready to be moved is a big chore especially when you are trying to be conscientious of the environment. Flat screen TVs and large pictures have to be wrapped with protective material, taped and boxed or crated according to the movers.  I am using towels and blankets for protecting the large items and have used them in boxes with fragile items. This serves a dual purpose since the items need to be protective and the blankets and towels need to be boxed up. A win-win!

I move in a week and a half, and still have so much more to pack.  I was waiting for some more boxes to show up from my neighbor however time is of the essence so I may go out today and scout some stores for used ones. Happy Father’s Day and enjoy your Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

