Posted by: harrisandyou | June 6, 2013

Sharing and Reusing

Over the weekend I needed more boxes for packing.  One of the workers here at the apartment complex told me that someone was just moving in and maybe they would give me their boxes when they unpack.  Good idea.  I went to their apartment and asked if I could have their boxes when they are done with them, they said okay.

A few days went by and I did not receive any boxes.  I thought they are probably busy and may not want to be bothered with giving me the boxes.  My son and I went out and bought a couple of boxes for plates and glassware and would you believe that 30 minutes after I had returned home there was a knock at the door.  The neighbor brought over 3 good size boxes!  I was so grateful that she brought them over.  She said she would bring more as they get them unpacked.  Wonderful! I like the idea of reusing instead of purchasing and I like that we are helping each other.  She does not need to break them down and put them in the recycling bin and I do not have to purchase any.

In the 70’s and 80’s I could find boxes behind a grocery store that they would put in the trash bin or outside their door.  Everything went to the trash bin in those days. Now I see people in their pickup trucks picking up stacks of boxes and they turn the boxes in for money. I think this is great that the boxes are getting recycled and people are making a little side money.  Money is what motivates some people to recycle. That is fine and hopefully some recycle because it is the right thing to do.

I like sharing and reusing the boxes and I got to meet a new neighbor.  When I get settled in my new place and I have empty boxes I will first check with everyone I know to see if anyone needs them if not I will be happy to recycle them. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a green day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

