Posted by: harrisandyou | May 31, 2013

For Just A Day

English: Air pollution

English: Air pollution (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Over the weekend I spent less time driving and more time walking. Less driving means less air pollution and walking means exercise, a healthy heart and seeing more than you do if you are driving.  I enjoy seeing any animals I may happen across – in my area that means rabbits, ducks, geese, squirrels and lizards.  I feel so lucky to observe these animals and grateful that they are here.  I live near a man made lake and they probably brought the critters in at first.  All the same I like having them here, it makes you feel like you are out in nature.

At the end of next month I will be moving to an area that has deers, squirrels, and racoons.  I will be about 2 miles away from the ocean and about 15 miles to town.  Nice however I won’t be walking to the grocery store it’s a little too far.  That is one of the disadvantages of living there however the advantage is there are no Starbucks there, no McDonald’s or chain stores.  All mom and pop stores and you have to drive into another town to find the chain stores.  Wonderful!

It will be an adjustment but I am looking forward to it.  Less consumerism, less pollution and they have adopted the plastic bag ban.  I already use reusable bags so that suits me just fine.  Do you ever spend a day not using your car or SUV?  I know not everyone can do this because of work, school, children or the area where they live.  I just think it would be great if we could all not drive for a day and have less traffic, less air pollution, less noise and less hustle and bustle.

Leave a Reply

Categories

