Posted by: harrisandyou | April 25, 2013

Hand Drying

A Dyson Airblade hand dryer in California.

A Dyson Airblade hand dryer in California. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I always thought that in a public restroom it would be better to dry your hands with a hand dryer instead of paper towels.  Paper towels go to the landfill however a dryer uses energy.  I was reading the current Sierra Club magazine and they wrote that “MIT’s recent cradle-to-grave comparison of drying methods gives paper towels a slightly better grade than dryers, except for the super efficient Xlerator and Dyson Airblade…”.

The argument is that paper towels emit less CO2 emissions than dryers and use less water.  Good to know since I would choose dryers over paper towels.  Paper towels create a mess in the bathrooms and add to the landfills.  Now that I know which dryers are better I will add this to as a recommendation to clients.

Another item I would like to mention is that I stopped using plastic trash bags in my apartment.  I take the trash can outside and dump the contents into the trash bin.  This saves plastic going to the landfill which will never go away.  However I was in the grocery store the other week and found compostable tall 13 gallon bags.  I bought a box and yes they cost a little more.  They are worth purchasing because hopefully the more people will buy them then maybe the store will keep them on the shelf.  I also like the fact that you can put food waste in them and take them to a compost facility.  They will break down into the soil.  It is called BioBag and it is approved for home composting as well.

Green things to think about and I hope there will be more to come!

Leave a Reply

Categories

