Posted by: harrisandyou | February 11, 2013

Leftovers

I took my son out for dinner tonight and we asked to take our leftovers home.  The waitress brought us two Styrofoam containers.  I have been reading that some people are bringing their own containers.  This is the right thing to do and maybe restaurants will get the message to stop using Styrofoam which is not biodegradable.  It will remain in our landfills indefinitely.  I will put a container in my car for the next time I eat out and bring leftovers home.  I hope to make this an automatic response like taking my reusable bags to the grocery store and I carry a rolled up reusable bag in my handbag for when I am out shopping.

So many people are still living the premise that there is nothing wrong with our environment or that someone else will clean it up.  I hear this when I call businesses asking them about their recycling program and they do not know what I am asking them.  I ask if they recycle any materials or discards.  Some will say they are not sure, others will transfer me to another department and I had one person tell me that the city takes care of it.  Really the city?  Interesting how many people and businesses are not educated or aware that there are benefits to being green. For one, the state of California has legislature mandating recycling, reducing and reusing.  A second reason is to reduce your costs and your carbon footprint.  Not only will you be making the environment better it will green your reputation and it is the right thing to do.

The environment needs our help and that includes everyone of us, businesses, corporations, organizations, cities, states and countries, doing our part to a healthier tomorrow even if it is by little steps like bringing your own take out container.

Leave a Reply

Categories

