Posted by: harrisandyou | October 10, 2012

Food Waste

I am working on finals for my class in Resource Management/Zero Waste.  We had to do a waste assessment of our homes and on campus.

I live in an apartment with my son and cat. My largest waste is food.  If I lived in a home I would compost and use it to mulch the soil around the plants.  It is good for the landscape and better for the environment.

I try whenever possible to reduce consumption of packaging such as plastics and cardboard.  It is difficult to do as most everything you buy at the grocery store is in plastic or cardboard boxes.  At least cardboard can be recycled or even composted.  Plastic bottles can be recycled, some plastic packaging and plastic wrap cannot be recycled.  It is then thrown into the landfill.

For our society to become closer to zero waste we need the product producer/manufacturer to reduce the packaging, make the packaging 100% recyclable and they should take back the product at the end of its life cycle assuming it is not food or drinks. If manufacturers started doing this how long will it take before we see a difference?

In what ways are you trying to reduce your trash?  I look forward to your comments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

