Posted by: harrisandyou | July 19, 2012

Becoming More Aware

Since starting my Zero Waste class, I have become much more aware of the trash on the street, in bins, and in cans around Orange County.  One observation is there are not enough trash cans in a designate area.  I notice this when I walk around the North Lake and there is trash lying on the ground or in the bushes.  I look at where the trash cans are as I walk and they are spread out I guess too far for a person to walk to throw their trash in it.  If there were more trash cans would this make it easier for people to throw their trash in the proper receptacle or would they still throw it on the ground? I am hoping it would help.

I also think it would be a great idea to have recycling cans next to the trash cans.  Maybe people would throw their newspapers, plastic containers and glass bottles in the recycling cans instead of the trash. To have the recycling cans in plain view might send the message to recycle and it provides easier access.

One more need is for ash cans.  People that smoke have a tendency to throw their cigarette or cigar butts on the ground.  I guess they think that someone else or a sweeper truck will come by and clean it up…I don’t know what they think but perhaps if there were ash cans in convenient locations they would actually throw their finished cigarettes and cigars away.  It might help.

So those are my thoughts on ways that could make for a “greener” world for now and I am sure there will be more to come.

Leave a Reply

Categories

